Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Sep 14, 2010, 12:59 PM   #1

Default F80 EXR Snow Settings

Hi,

I just bought an F80 EXR camera and soon will be going to Livigno in the Snow, and that is the reason I bought a new camera Im still a beginner so I don't know much about cameras but Im willing to learn

What do you think might be some good settings to take pictures of snow vistas please?

And what settings could I use for normal photos still in the snow?

Thanks a lot for the help guys
masini is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 14, 2010, 1:05 PM   #2
Super Moderator

the settings guide i put together for f70exr hold true for the f80exr as well.
see:
http://forums.steves-digicams.com/fu...-exr-cams.html

Setting #1 will be a good choice for your snow shots, as the increased dynamic range will help you to keep from blowing out the highlights.
Old Sep 14, 2010, 1:25 PM   #3

thanks for the quick reply

yes I saw that guide and its already favorited for when the camera arrives I will try to play with it a bit before going on the holiday..

just a small question.. so the dynamic range should be increased when getting a bigger shoot, and decreased when getting closer shots?
Old Sep 14, 2010, 1:53 PM   #4
Super Moderator

The dynamic range is the range of light that the sensor can capture. So a scene with high dynamic range such as a bright sunny day with shadows has a big difference in light between the bright areas and the shadows. This is difficult for cameras to handle.

On the camera the DR %, either 100% (no increase) up to 800% refers to how much of a boost in dynamic range the setting gives.

So the 800% in the EXR mode, (like setting #1), gives the largest dynamic range boost, so you can capture a wider range of light. so in the example of shots in the snow, it will give the best chance of not blowing out the highlights.
Old Sep 15, 2010, 4:28 AM   #5