Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Dec 19, 2003, 10:17 AM   #1

Default snowy viewfinder view...why????

Hi, I'm very new to digital photography and this is my first digital camera. So far, I'm not very pleased but that is probably because I've failed to do something. When I turn the camera (an S5000) on and look through the view finder, it looks like I'm peering through a snowstorm... or I might describe it like looking at an old television show with a sort of snowy, poor resolution. And as I move the camera about it's like looking through a movie finder... it moves... unlike looking through a regular viewfinder.

Also, the view turns off after a minute or so which is very unsettling, especially if I'm trying to compose a picture.

Frankly, I'm beginning to think that this camera is too complicated for the likes of me and/or it is defective.

Please... I welcome all comments before I return it to the store. Thank you.
leushino is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 19, 2003, 11:07 AM   #2

I am not sure about the snowy part but the turn off of the display is usually a setting that can be changed. So all you need to do if I am not mistaken is to go through your setup menu and look for the setting and select the one that you desire. Remember the longer it stays on means less pictures from a single charge.
zace27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2003, 1:41 PM   #3

how long does the average 2300 rechrgable bats last in the fujifilm s5000 and the s7000. does it go flat very fast.............i had a hp 812 and after 10 shots with the viewfinder, the bats are flat............i hope the s7000 is not the same
zoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2003, 3:02 PM   #4

Zoom

Over 200 shots as stated on your other thread.

Phil
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2003, 10:47 PM   #5

HI,

I'm a new S5000 user myself. Excellent camera for $302 I paid for.