Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old May 21, 2011, 11:51 PM   #1

Default HS20 Issues

Well I thought their won't/wasn't any issues with the HS20 until this morning. Luckily I had my HS10 with me as a backup. Why I decided to pack it last night in the camera bag and leave the HS20 loose on top for transport and then through the HS20 over my shoulder I am not sure as my back up is usually an Olympus SW1050 when I am out and about........

I was shooting high school graduation and needed to get each student as they got their diplomas and all the other little moments. The entire ceremony was pretty fast paced as far as photos are concerned. I started shooting and had no issues until about 600 frames into the shooting when the students started to get their dipolmas and I starting fire off the shots as fast as the camera cleared from the previous shot. Quickly the red temperature warning indicator came on and then a writing message warning came across the screen which looked the shutter buttons ability to fire (warning me the inside of the camera was hot and to shut down the camera for a few minutes). I quickly turned off the camera and back on to see if I could clear the message and shoot more.

At first it worked fine but after 20 frames the written warning came up again. I opened and closed the battery compartment turn the camera off and on and 20 frames later it happened again. Opened the lid of the camera bag, grabbed the HS10 and started fireing off. Fired another 120 frames with no issues.

When it was over I grabbed the HS20 fired some post event shots (hugs, cake etc) and had no issues in the 150 shots I took (granted the camera did dit unused for maybe 20 or 25 minutes in between).