Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Jun 4, 2011, 3:15 PM   #1

Default Best settings on my HS20EXR? (for trip to Italy)

I am new to photography and just bought a HS20EXR.

I would like some advice on settings for various circumstances.

(1) When I am inside the Vatican, what are some good settings?

(2) When I am outside strolling the streets and taking pics of the outside locations (assume good sunlight during June), what are some good settings?

I seem to always have trouble with slightly blurred pics.

Also, some people have told me to NOT take pics with 16 megapixels, but instead something closer to 8-12 MP (M 4:3). Is this correct?
artnalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 4, 2011, 3:28 PM   #2

I have been shooting at 12MP with my camera in order to keep file sizes down. I did shoot an entire wedding at 16MP and had no issues with the pictures.

Inside if the light is low use the high ISO and low noise feature and use the flash if allowed.

dave
Photo 5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2011, 5:51 PM   #3

I used to do the same, shoot at a lower MP...then someone said 'why buy it then?'
I found if I buy the better camera, use all it has or why have it?
I shoot at 14, use a good chip in the camera, have not run out of memory yet. Even if I don't erase enough. When I download to a computer I look at the pics, delete the ones I do not like or are fuzzy right off. I also go through pics at a later time and toss some I had not before.

See, you can always resize your pics to a smaller size, say when you crop down to get a better look at something in the center of the shot. It does lower size.

But, Once you shoot at 12 you cannot get 14, you can lower the resolution from 14 to 12. So, if I want to put it on here I go to resize and it has it all set to 1024, just right. BTW I just use windows live photo gallery...it has the basics.