Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Dec 15, 2011, 3:25 AM   #1

Default struggling with the HS20

Hello all,
I have read alot on here and seen so many nice shots with this camera. I bought it after so many good reviews, but I am not sharing the same experience. Most of my pictures are of my kids at sporting events. I have not been able to get a decent shot of the kids playing basketball in the gym. Even without using much zoom, the pictures are not what I was expecting. I have tried alot of settings, but I am no pro, not even close, barely even amateur status. Based on the shots I have take outdoors, I am guessing that our Lake photos and watersports in the summer will be awesome, but is this camera capable of taking a decent motion pic in a gym?

I can still return it to amazon if this is not the camera for me, or do I need something to complement it.

Thanks in advance for any help.
uttitanfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 15, 2011, 5:36 AM   #2

Shooting indoor sports is just about the most difficult thing to achieve with anything other than pro' equipment- a responsive DSLR with a fast(wide aperture)zoom lens- costing many,MANY times more than your HS20..!
The only way you'll have a chance is to shoot wide open(enabling fastest shutter speeds possible) in aperture priority with a very high iso setting(1600+),evaluative metering,centre area focus and continuous focus tracking. You could also use Manual mode and assess exposure with a couple of test shots- as lighting is usually consistent indoors- prioritising speed again,with the fastest shutter speed available to you.
1/400th sec and upwards is usually required for sharp shots- provided you can get the light in required...
SIMON40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2011, 6:22 AM   #3

so, basically, you are saying I can't use the zoom at all, and then it is still not going to be ideal.