Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Mar 8, 2004, 3:16 AM   #1

Default Fujifilm S5000 or Kodak 6490

Hi everybody.

This is my first post and it is for asking you all about my upcoming purchase. Having read the topic title you will surely know which cameras am I thinking about.

I'm just a point-and-shot photographer (this word seems too big for me ) wanting to learn how to make photos like those posted here, so certain manual operability is required, that?s why I decided to have these cameras as reference.

So Which one do you think is the best buy? DX6490 or S5000?

You will find this post in the Kodak forum too, so if you are interested in what Kodak users think about, visit it
KrustY is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 8, 2004, 5:44 PM   #2
hst

Default Both Good

Both are good cameras. The Kodak is a 4MP and the Fuji is a 3MP so you do get one more MP with the Kodak. The Fuji however is going to give you more manual controls and also offers a RAW capture mode which Kodak Lacks. If you take a close look at the Kodak sample pictures you can see some of the details are somewhat blow out in areas but as long as you don't do a lot of cropping and don't print very large prints you probably would never notice the highlights missing. The Fuji also uses typical AA batteries which is a plus and the latest XD memory card which is very fast.
hst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2004, 3:29 AM   #3

www.s5000.net if you want to see other S5000 users's opinion about this. Aparently, they had the same problem before buying it
veedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2004, 6:37 AM   #4

I have a friend that has the Kodak. We discuss our camera settings and many times I hear him say, "My camera does not have that". Go for the fuji.....you will not be sorry in the least.
Goofas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2004, 9:45 PM   #5