Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Sep 17, 2002, 10:05 AM   #1

Default Dust trapped inside S602z lens

I've been using my S602 for about 2 months and found that there are little dust INSIDE the lens. How do I clean it?
isaacvoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 17, 2002, 1:06 PM   #2

Very worrying. I'd be worrying most about how it was getting in there. Sounds like a warranty job and an explanation as to how it got in for this Forum. They probably assemble these in a clean room. Assuming no easy path, is this dust getting in or is it internal (paint) coatings coming away? Has the cam been used in a hot humid atmos?
voxmagna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2002, 10:18 AM   #3

I'm not sure how it got into it. Could it be the air blower which I used on the lens blowed it inside intead of cleaning it? For a normal digicam, should it be perfectly dust free inside the lens?
isaacvoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2002, 5:22 PM   #4

Digicam manufacturers should know how to make lenses, since most have migrated from film models, albeit they might still be learning the electronics! Unlike fixed focus lenses, zoom lenses might be different. I'm sorry I have never taken one apart. Not wishing to get slated by the purists, I dont think the odd small spec of dust will affect your pictures, Damage to the outer surface coatings by fingerprints is far more troublesome.
voxmagna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2002, 11:05 AM   #5

Default Dust within the lens elements