Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Sep 15, 2004, 1:35 AM   #1

I am new to photography period- but in the last year I've learned a bit about digital cameras... even so I was still silly enough to buy a S5000 even though I knew there were plenty of others with sharper pix. Still it's a really nice camera.

My question concerning firmware is why does it have to come from Fuji? There are a lot of very smart people/companies out there knowledgable in digital tech. I know Fuji says that nothing can be done about the compression "problem" but why can't some analysis of the camera's program/other be done independantly, and if there is a fix... even a partial fix- put it out in the marketplace? This would make a lot of S5000 user very pleased and would make someone a fast bit of money.

Just a thought, I'd appreciate some input.

Bjane
Bjane is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 15, 2004, 7:56 AM   #2

Your assuming its Flash Updatable and not a new firmware chip. I have asked Fuji numerous times if the firware was flash updatable and they never give me a straight answer. I have looked at most all of their support pages and I could find any firware updates for any of their cameras. My guess is that a firmware chip has to be replaced.

If they are flash updatable, you probably right that some else could develop and update, however it is probably illegal because of some patent. Also if a firware upgrade goes bad, who would be responsible for fixing the camera if the end user did something wrong during the update. I don't think fuji would.

Just my thoughts.

FYI they seem to address their issues by making you buy a new camera like the Fuji 5100. That way they continually produce and sell new cameras and don't worry about the older models
host is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2004, 3:11 PM   #3

Thanks!