Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Feb 6, 2005, 8:31 PM   #1

Ok I am a newbie...I put in new batteries in my Fuji S602Z [because I thought it seemed dead becoz of batteries]...but what happens is:

1. Camera OFF. I take off lens cover.

2. Move Dial to Record position. Lens extends all the way, Green Power light ON..but as soon as the lens has extended...green light goes out!!!

So I can do nothing!!! Cannot click...

Turning back the dial to OFF and then back to Record again causes some sounds...the lens kinda retracts...green light comes on but almost immediately goes out...So it is a pain to shut it OFF..if I shut it OFF the lens does NOT retract..so what I have to do is:
--Turn dial to Record
-- Lens retracts...
-- Quickly move dial to OFF..then it retracts and stays retracted...so I can put the lens cover on..phew!

What may be going on? I mean, I can try with another set of batteries...but...these were new..non-rechargeable ones...

TIA
umkumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 6, 2005, 10:19 PM   #2

Not all AAbatts are the same power, it's gottasay Alkaline on them, or NiMh rechargable (even better)
MikDee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2005, 3:19 AM   #3
Baz

Alkalines in that, & some other cameras are hopeless.

You will need several sets (of 4) NiMH rechargeable batteries to power the 602. The higher mAh the better, like 2300 mAh.

Get some of those, and a good NiMH charger.
Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2005, 10:44 AM   #4

Has the camera previously worked, and you are just now experiencing problems, or isthis camera new to you?
Basement Shows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2005, 7:02 AM   #5

Thanks guys. I will try with higher power batteries...

It did work before...I've taken pix at least on one occassion before(with the usual Energizer kind of batteries...), ...that is why I am surprised...
Old Feb 8, 2005, 8:44 AM   #6