Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Apr 10, 2005, 2:39 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Default

:?Has anyone had this annoyance happen???Camera and computer have been working fine and now my Dell (windows 98 SE)does not seem to reconize the camera (finepix 340), all USB connections are the same as beforeand seem to be working. We also reinstalled all softwear and reset the camera itself to "stock' settings. The "video Out" however does still work when connected to a TV. Of course this happens after 2 weeks in the carribean with every picture needed. Any input is very much appreciated...Thanks.
zoey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 10, 2005, 8:53 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
CCWKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default

1. DoesWindows report the usb ports as "removeable drives"?

2. Do you have another usb device to test the ports?

3. It could be a bad usb cable.

4. The camera may not be set to the correct usb mode. If it's set to Pictbridge, it wants to talk to a printer. It should be set to DSC mode. (Removeable Disk)
CCWKen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2005, 11:36 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
tswen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 379
Default

Hello,

Please try this ( i am MCSE certified)

Please have the camera connected to your computer when you follow these steps

Right Click on "My Computer"

Click "Properties"

Click the button that says "Device Manager"

Please look for any Items that have a Yellow Exclamation point next to them.

If any do, see if they are listed under USB Devices

Right click on them, and click "Remove Device" OR "Uninstall"

It will ask you if you are sure, click yes.

NEXT STEP------------------------------------

Click the little plus icon next to Universal Serial Bus Controllers

If the camera is currently connected you should see it in the list of devices it shows

Right click on the camera and click "Remove Device" OR "Uninstall"

Click Yes, when it prompts you if you are sure you want to do this.

NEXT STEP-----------------------------------

Unplug the camera from the computer, and remove the USB cable from the computer, shut down the computer and restart it.

Once windows is back up and running, reconnect the camera.

A Window should come up saying "Found new Hardware"

And it will walk you through the steps ofinstalling the drivers for the camera.

Now it should work again.

If it doesn't please reply back, and i'll see what else i can think of.

Hope this helps

-Travis Swentosky-
tswen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2005, 9:34 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Default

It turns out that it must be something about the camera as we have checked the USB connection with another finepix and it works fine even with the same card installed from the faulty one. The camera is set to the recommended DSC mode and the icon arrowsin the LCD say that it is working, however nothing. Can the camera just quit? (a new purchase) Also another card does not change the status. A real bummer. Any hope??? Thanks
zoey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2005, 9:38 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Travis,

Can the drivers and settings be camera sensitive??? See above reply. As another finepix works with the current set up. I hope we can solve this.

Thanks
zoey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2005, 11:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
CCWKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default

Do you have good batteries or an A/C adapter?

I don't think the drivers are camera specific as much as Windows specific.

If you're using a card reader, the driver(s) should be from the reader mfg.

If you're using a USB port, the driver(s) should be from MS.

When using a USB port, the camera must be turned off during cable connect/disconnect or it could damage the camera.

My manual says that cards written by another camera may or may not work in the "play" mode of another camera. It says that a card should be formated in the camera that will record the pictures.
CCWKen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2005, 11:59 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
tswen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 379
Default

Actually, yes

Any external device has it's own unique id number embedded in the computer chips. So even if you have two of the same cameras, the computer will keep TWO different driver files.

So even if you plugged one in and it worked, you will still have to remove the driver from the other camera.

This can ONLY be done while it is plugged in, using the steps i listed above.

-Travis Swentosky-
tswen is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:55 PM.