Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Jun 30, 2005, 10:36 PM   #1

Took this pic today and was wondering if this is as good quality as it gets with the S5100 at full zoom. I took the picture from about 80 feet using a tripod with iso on 100 and in program mode. Also took a pic of a butterfly from about 6 feet that was also lacking in quality and only zoomed to half.

To be honest, I have been less than happy :sad:with the quality of my shots I've been getting. I admit I'm new to digital cameras but I have seen much better quality pics posted by other using the S5100. Is it me or the camera? How can I get the camera checked?

Thanks, Bill
Attached Images

labirder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 30, 2005, 10:38 PM   #2

Here is the pic of the butterfly also taken using a tripod.

Thanks, Bill
Attached Images

Old Jun 30, 2005, 11:50 PM   #3

Well, from my experience (which isn't as much as the other peoples' experiences here, but I'll give it a go): no, those pictures seem to be really low quality for that camera. I've taken pictures at full zoom and they haven't ended up like that. Here's what I would suggest:

First of all, double check your ISO.
Maybe don't go at full zoom, because digital zoom will start to kick in which can fuzz up the picture.
Also, definitely check to make sure you're on the highest resolution.

If that all checks out, I'd either get someone to look at it or get a refund and buy a new one.

Hope that helps!,
-Duncan
DGCT00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2005, 11:53 PM   #4