Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Jul 3, 2005, 1:52 AM   #1

im using the S5100, and when i zoom up in the 4 megapixel , so many of my pics come out blurry. Im trying to hold it as steady as i can. What settings would be good for full zoom?
sincerecowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 3, 2005, 9:43 AM   #2

I have no problem just staying on auto. If no tripod is used then I hold camera similar to what manual shows except I drop both elbows down to flank area and securly rest them there and bring head &neck down to compensate. Then like shooting a gun I lightly hyperventilate a couple times, breath outhalfway then hold breath and shoot.
Bucksnort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2005, 10:36 AM   #3

I'm a noob too so this may not be the best advice, but from the playing around I've done I've managed to get good crisp shots if I can set the ISO that lets me get at least a 1/140 shutter speed. If it's daylight outside most times the 64 or 100 setting lets me get this, and I'll bump it to 200 if it's in a shady spot or overcast. I try and stay away from ISO 400 except for very low light. A steady hand can affect the shutter speed you need. I snapped the pic of this little guy this morning from about 12 feet away at almost full zoom.

S:1/140, F:3.1, ISO 200, Aperature Priority mode

Attached Images

gipper51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2005, 12:29 PM   #4

hey thanks, i noticed some people were using different iso settings when they zoom the camera so was wondering if that helped. I had someone tell me to put the camera in sports mode while zooming and that helps, so i may try that also
Old Jul 3, 2005, 12:33 PM   #5