Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jul 18, 2005, 11:55 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Default

hi

i bot S5500 about 3 months back.this is my 1st DC.im a total newbie, prior to my marine tank, ive never touch a camera.

the main purpose of the camera is for portraits, landscape, close-up (macro)

pls feel free to comment.as im here to learn

im happy with portraits and landscape but im not happy with macro shots.its just not close enough.if i use digital zoom to magnify it, ill lose details or the pic would be very noisy.

is there a macro lens for S5500 ?? pls help
Attached Images
 
six66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 18, 2005, 11:58 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Default

some close ups ...
Attached Images
 
six66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2005, 12:00 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Default

pic of my coral
Attached Images
 
six66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2005, 12:02 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Default

this is a result of macro n crop, i dun use any software to process it
Attached Images
 
six66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2005, 7:05 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
joelw135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 310
Default

The Macro mode on the S5100 is OK, but you need to add either closeup filters or an Lens such as a Raynox DCR-150 or Raynox DCR-250. The DCR-250 is the one I choose.
joelw135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2005, 10:02 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,063
Default

Are you actually using the macro setting? You should be able to get a lot closer than that with the normal lens. Also, you might improve your focusing by changing the autofocus mode to Center (or Spot) or what ever it is called. I don't do macro photography, and I don't have the camera with me.
jphess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2005, 10:15 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
joelw135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 310
Default

Jphess is correct you should be able to get closer, I do it all the time.
joelw135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2005, 9:51 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
CCWKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default

To get closer, you want to "Zoom Wide/Out", not zoom in (Tele). Make sure you're in Macro and Zoom "W" all the way. At this setting, you can be within about 4" of the subject.
CCWKen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2005, 10:10 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Default

thx for all the replys bro !!! really appreciates it !!

all pics r taken in macro

i wanted to go 'W'ide but some corals r too far n fishes swim all the time ... so most of the time i have to go 'T'ele to get the shot

will try to snap pics in RAW n edit the pic

i mostly shoot macro - fishes n corals ... n i like the pics to be as clear as possible

any ideas how do i go about it ?? i dun like using software to edit my pics

any comments/ideas welcome
six66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2005, 10:03 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
CCWKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default

Too close? Too far? Which is it?

Take a look at your manual. It covers the focal distances for Macro Modein both Wide and Tele zoom.You can be anywhere from 4inches to 6.5feet! Pick somewhere in between. :roll:
CCWKen is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.