Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Oct 14, 2005, 3:42 AM   #1

Hi I am an industrial design student from India,
I have a Fuji Finepix S7000, which was working really fine, and I was happy with its performance, but suddenly something has gone wrong with it.
When I started it on last Tuesday (11th Oct05) it froze twice, the playback mode was working but nothing was happening in shooting mode. After trying for some time and resetting the camera it started working but all image are looking like, that it's been vertically motion blurred! In the electronic viewfinder also similar thing is happening.

There is some example of the images taken after that:

One utter coincidence is, on the very same day I found some news on some gizmo site, which is very similar!
According to which,
In the past week, four major camera makers, Sony, Fuji, Konica-Minolta and Canon have quietly published service advisories admitting their digital cameras are dying..

Check those reports out here,
http://www.retrothing.com/2005/10/defective_digit.html
http://us.gizmodo.com/gadgets/digita...ies-130262.php
http://hardware.slashdot.org/article...33&tid=137

I think I am having exactly the same problem as those stated in the news.
I found a advisory of Fuji from those site here,
http://www.fujifilm.com/JSP/fuji/epa...quicklink=true

According to this, only these cameras might have been affected,
Model Serial Number Range
FinePix A303 3JA4****~3JA5****
FinePix F410 32A1**** 32A6****~32A7**** 32A9****
FinePix F700 33A0**** 34A1****

My camera is,FinePix S700, Serial No. 42A03227.

My camera does not fall under those serial numbers but I am sure it's the same problem.
And as far as I know FinePix F700 uses the same 6.3 MP CCD as FinePix S700 does.

Now my problem is I cant find any email address of (potential) Fuji camera support center on its site where I can state my problem and ask for help.