Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Nov 17, 2005, 12:56 PM   #1

Hi! I'm new to digital cameras. I got a fujifilm finepix A340. Well it worked for some time and then it showed the low battery meter and shuts itself down.
The battries were that shipped with the package.(Panasonic LR6 AA-size alkaline) And i'm sure my friend would have used the camera that drained the batteries. But then i bought 2 new AA battries. Though it doesn't say alkaline or Ni-mh type...now the camera shows the low power warning and shutdown whenever i click on the shoot button.

1) Is it because i'm using batteries other than the types the camera supports ? or is it a fault in the camera ?

2) Does alkaline batteries have the ability to measure the remaining power - which shows as a meter in the camera where normal AA battries doesn't have.... which is the cause of the problem ?

Can someone please explain me what's going on.

Thanks.
Goddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 17, 2005, 2:36 PM   #2

It sounds to me like you used some "standard" AA batteries. They will not have enough power to adequately run your camera. You really need to have at least alkaline batteries. But you will get much better results and longer life from your batteries if you get some rechargeable NimH batteries, 2500 MaH.
jphess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2005, 2:48 PM   #3

Yes i'm afraid it's "standard" AA batteries.

So that's why it showed low power warning and shuts down automatically.
I don't have much knowledge about the types of batteries and stuff. I always use the standard AA batteries on my TV/DVD remote.

So only alkaline and those Nimh batteries are capable of showing how much power consumed/left is it :?:
Old Nov 17, 2005, 2:53 PM   #4