Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Mar 6, 2003, 8:48 AM   #1

Default 3800 night shots

I've been doing a ton of research, and I'm thinking my best buy would be a 3800. I was originally looking at the 2800, but with it's minimal half second (max) shutter duration, it most likely won't be able to get the kind of night shots I'm looking to take. I'm an amateur photographer looking to take pictures of cityscapes/skylines (day and night).

Will the 3800's 3 seconds be long enough to capture all the detail I'm looking to get? I have a friend registered on here as urbanphotos who owns a Sony DSC-P31 as his digital (along with an SLR) and he took these pictures of Phoenix' second 'skyline' district, the Biltmore area.

Will the 3800 give me enough manual control to capture shots like these, or will it's automatic settings be enough? I realize that a tripod will be a necessity...

Thanks
cabasse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 7, 2003, 12:59 PM   #2

Quote:
I've been doing a ton of research, and I'm thinking my best buy would be a 3800. I was originally looking at the 2800, but with it's minimal half second (max) shutter duration,
With all the research you've been doing you should have discovered that the 3800 is a 100 ASA cam. You might be better thinking about a cam with more sensitivity coming from a better lens and sensor, say up to 400ASA with low noise - before thinking about shutter speeds.

Nights shots need plenty of care and experiment so each situation could be different. I doubt if many cams can produce perfect auto point and shoot night pics, so manual control becomes very important. You probably know that the very long shutter may increase the risk of hot/warm pixel probs.

What don't you like about the Sony?
voxmagna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2003, 3:24 PM   #3

I know it's ISO100.

According to my friend, he says that he always takes his night shots at 100 anyway.