Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Jan 29, 2006, 6:51 AM   #1

Hi Fuji Friends,

I have an S9000 and I was wondering if there is suppose to be a noticeable difference between the 9MP normal setting and the 9MP fine setting. This setting uses up twice as much space so I would think the quality would be better. I can't notice any difference on my computer. Will this difference show up in print? I am new at this so any advice will be appreciated

Thank, Joe

joelet is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 29, 2006, 9:56 AM   #2

Both settings produce images with the same number of pixels. The difference is that the normal setting compresses the image more aggressively. This can create more noticeable JPEG artifacts in some situations. For instance, if you know that you are going to want to make very large prints, it would probably the best to shoot in the Fine mode. Also, if you zoom in your images with your photo editing software you will see more distortion in the normal images. So if you are going to crop an image extensively the Normal mode may be a little more problematic. But if your style of shooting and what you are doing with your images produces good results in the normal mode there is nothing wrong with using it. That is why it is there. Good luck, and congratulations on buying a wonderful camera.
jphess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2006, 1:59 PM   #3

Thank you for the advice. I love my camera and I hope I will be able to improve my picture taking withhelp frompeople like you thanks again

Joe
joelet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2006, 2:32 PM   #4

I too notice a difference only under extreme magnification so for general photography I use 9N. For something critical and or something you plan on doing a lot of PP use 9F or better yet RAW.

Tom
tbcass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2006, 6:18 PM   #5

Hello,