Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Jan 31, 2006, 11:44 AM   #1

After wading through the myriad of posts on here re. potential problems with the 9000/9500 I went and bought one. As a newbie to this camera and photography in general is there anyway someone can advise if I have a bad camera? As i am a relative novice I am not confidently able to examine my photos critically to determine if I have a problem?

Any advice/help is gratefully appreciated. I e-mail an full size image taken if required.

Many thanks
Vipes is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 31, 2006, 11:51 AM   #2

http://img372.imageshack.us/img372/4048/dscf01029ld.jpg
Old Jan 31, 2006, 12:51 PM   #3

The image you posted is a rather interesting one. But it would be a very difficult image for the camera to determine what the center of focus would be. The areas that are sharp in the picture look good to me. Personally, from the looks of your one image, I would suggest that you just get busy and take a lot of pictures. The camera you purchased has a lot of different options on it, and you need to learn how to use them. But don't forget that the camera records the image that you, the photographer, composes. Just get busy and practice. By the way, the image really is quite interesting.
jphess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2006, 12:55 PM   #4

Thanks for the advice and comment on the image posted. It's a water wheel and I was experimenting with shutter priority mode. On looking at all my images taken so far, I don't think I have a lemon but as you say will put the camera through its paces!

Cheers
Old Jan 31, 2006, 2:52 PM   #5

Hi Vipes, A really intriguing subject - you must retake that shot and try and eliminate the highlights.I think its got great potential for the Critiques Forum!