Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Feb 4, 2006, 8:54 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Default

I'm trying to decide between a Fuji 5200, Sony H1, or Panasonic FZ5.* While in the store trying out the cameras, the Panasonic and Sony had no trouble focusing on things close at hand, while the Fuji couldn't do it.* I'd think it was just me doing something wrong, but the salesman couldn't do it either.* Is this a problem with this type camera or just a bad one in the store?* I had just about made up my mind to go with the Fuji, but this concerns me.* Thanks for your help.
ALMom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 5, 2006, 3:20 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Can't say for sure since I own the Fuji S5000, but I'm guessing you should have been in macro mode. The distance may have seemed too far to be in macro (as it has at times to me), but that was likely the problem. My 5000 has been wonderful, as was my one experience with Fuji service, and I wouldn't hesitate to buy Fuji again. As a matter of fact, I'm definitely going to get their F11.
TLB39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2006, 5:03 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13
Default

I guess the minimum macro distance for the S5200 (US) / S5600 (Europe) is 0.1 meters or approx 5 inches with no telephoto. Ensure that the lens is not zoomed & retry the focus.

Also check the position of the focus switch, set it to S-AF for Auto, you could also manually focus with the M-AF setting.

I own a S5600 & am very happy with it !

Fujis service is exemplary to say the least see a 1-in-a-million issue I had with the first S5600-

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=16

All the best.
lionellobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2006, 11:37 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Default

I had a similar problem with my Fuji S5100. Look in this forum for the help you require. I was amazed at how quickly the information given to "sincerecowboy" helped me solve my focusing problem. Although the help was for a S5100 there is a good chance it will answer your query

Shmul is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:53 AM.