Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Feb 11, 2006, 7:49 PM   #1

I was at my daughter's school the other morning taking pictures of her getting award for being in the A-B Honor Roll. She was also part of a choir that sang a a song at the beginning of the affair. I was checking the focus and distance, and took a picture only to discover I had not turned on the external flash. I'm about 35-45 feet away, so it was marginal at best. The picture was taken at ISO 400 with no flash in an auditorium at a shutter speed of 1/250 and aperture of 4.3 . Needless to say it was HORRIBLY underexposed with nothing of great interest. Posted below is the first image.

Now for the forensic of me to come into play. I was a forensic photographer back in Nebraska and what you see next is not something to print and frame, as I took a WHOLE lot better pictures after the flash was turned on, but, if you needed evidence.... you could get enough from this image to make a conviction!

My Daughter is in the pink sweat shirt with the Cabela's name on it. Lilke I said it's not the greatest, but this does pose what one could do in the hands of law enforcement photography using the corrections. I used Color Pilot to say the guy's shirt in the front row "...xpress" was white, and clicked "start" The resulting image was saved as a TIFF and in Adobe CS I adjust just the brightness and contrast a bit and saved it as both a TIFF and "saved for web", which you see here.

I thought it was pretty remarkable!

Vern

The Winemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 13, 2006, 4:58 AM   #2

this is indeed a remarkable recovery!
proton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2006, 6:16 AM   #3

Digital is amazing.

Hope you don't mind, here is my correction of you original under-exposed web image (not your corrected image).

Starting with the full size original you could get a printable image:

Regards, Nicholas

Attached Images