Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Mar 31, 2003, 8:54 PM   #1
SSD

Default S602 Low light focus?

Hi,
Newbie here and I am seriously considering a S602. Does this camera have a low light focus assist lamp?
Thanks!
SSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 1, 2003, 3:46 PM   #2

No, but it does have full manual focus functions, with viewfinder image centre magnifier.

People use laser pointers as focus assist when in difficulties. I usually push up the f stop to f5.6 or greater if I can for more DOF, and use manual focus if I can.

Total darkness seems OK, but usually focus difficulty occurs when you have some light (e.g candle lit dinner tables) and auto focus can't decide where to focus. Had this problem with internal flash, but now use external flash, set stop to f5.6, manual focus and get excellent fast party pics.

The 602 is a feature packed camera, all cameras have their strengths and weaknesses, but at least the 602 has full manual control, with extended ISO sensitivity.
voxmagna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2003, 10:13 PM   #3
SSD

Voxmagna

Thanks for the help! I take a lot of indoor pics of kids and animals and was wondering if this type of pic would come out ok under normal indoor lighting. Any experience with this? I am beginning to lean towards the 602 vs. the Nikon 4500 because I am pretty sure I can use my Canon 200e flash with it.

I have also heard about CF problems with the 602. What type of memory should I use? I am not to crazy about Smart media.
Thanks!
Old Apr 2, 2003, 1:06 PM   #4