Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Apr 8, 2006, 8:01 PM   #21
Member
 
honus402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
Default

I tired out the Digital Zoom today. I used ImageReady to optimize for the web.

S9000, 9M Jpeg Fine, Sharpen-Normal, Auto WB, F 5 @ 1/400, "A" Priority Mode, ASA-100. One shot at 50mm eq and one at 300mm + 2x digital. No PPexcept for resize.

Shown: 50mm
Attached Images
 
honus402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2006, 8:02 PM   #22
Member
 
honus402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
Default

I tired out the Digital Zoom today. I used ImageReady to optimize for the web.

S9000, 9M Jpeg Fine, Sharpen-Normal, Auto WB, F 5 @ 1/400, "A" Priority Mode, ASA-100. One shot at 50mm eq and one at 300mm + 2x digital. No PPexcept for resize.

Shown: 300mm+2X Digital Zoom (600MM)
Attached Images
 
honus402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2006, 8:07 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
kenmck15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,568
Default

The shot is good


kenmck15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2006, 9:18 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
buddhasghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 106
Default

honus402 wrote:
Quote:
I tired out the Digital Zoom today. I used ImageReady to optimize for the web.

S9000, 9M Jpeg Fine, Sharpen-Normal, Auto WB, F 5 @ 1/400, "A" Priority Mode, ASA-100. One shot at 50mm eq and one at 300mm + 2x digital. No PPexcept for resize.

Shown: 300mm+2X Digital Zoom (600MM)
Did you shoot this from a tripod, because if not, it's very nice to be digital zoom.
buddhasghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2006, 2:02 AM   #25
Baz
Senior Member
 
Baz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 219
Default

Yes, JP, Some here dont realise the quality of the S9000 2x digi zoom, like you were illustrating..

Yes, we all accept the limitations of Digital Zoom with most cameras. But the S900 is different, as you have shown. Sadly many here without the S9000, dont accept this.
Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2006, 5:28 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
kenmck15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,568
Default

no i didnt realise the quality of the 2x digital zoom from the fuji


Even if i owned one i would have never known.

im not sure if this info would have influenced my decision to choose the fuji over the pana but i definately think its a big thing. I have always mentioned tht this fuji is a top notch cam. This definately bumps it up a few

Impressive

ken


kenmck15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2006, 6:40 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
bernabeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 990
Default

9 megwith 2x digital zoom becomes a 3 meg

HOWEVER: a 3 meg camera with a good lens (like the s9000) is an excellent camera

the point is that digital zoom is MERELY IN CAMERA CROPPING
bernabeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2006, 1:44 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
kenmck15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,568
Default

bernabeu wrote:
Quote:
9 megwith 2x digital zoom becomes a 3 meg

HOWEVER: a 3 meg camera with a good lens (like the s9000) is an excellent camera

the point is that digital zoom is MERELY IN CAMERA CROPPING
this is whati thought the camera did

BUT ppl in this forum are sayingit takes 9mp shots at 2x dgizoom with little or no loss of image quality?


ken

kenmck15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2006, 2:37 PM   #29
Member
 
honus402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
Default

There has to be some loss. I believe what may be happening is the pixel sampling in 2X is similar to what the 9000 does when shooting in RAW. If we are sampling like the RAW file is sampled, then there would have to be resolving loss or luminance loss, which should increase noise. Can't get something for nothing.
honus402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2006, 2:39 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
kenmck15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,568
Default

honus402 wrote:
Quote:
There has to be some loss. I believe what may be happening is the pixel sampling in 2X is similar to what the 9000 does when shooting in RAW. If we are sampling like the RAW file is sampled, then there would have to be resolving loss or luminance loss, which should increase noise. Can't get something for nothing.

ahh ok making more sense now.

but i thought u said it took shots at 18mp. shouldnt there be no loss if the native res is higher than the output res??????????????????????
kenmck15 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:29 AM.