Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Apr 11, 2006, 6:39 AM   #1

Hi,

I seem to have run into a problem, i am a newbie photographer and have bought myself a 4 month old s9500 from ebay. The camera is fantastic and i have read an imense amount of info for this cam.

Onto my problem,
I bought my self a 4gb Microdrive a couple of days ago from savastore.com which arrived today, its an Aries 4gb. ( says MagicStor on the microdrive )

The problem is, when i pop the Microdrive in the S9500, it just hangs on the screen with the pink box's going round and round. I left it for 5 mins but nothing happend. The microdrive works fine on my laptop and is formated to fat32.

Reading on the fuji website, it doesnt specify anything other than compatability with 1 to 6gb cards.

My firmware is (already from previous owner i guess) at 1.2

Am i doing something wrong?

Many thanks

Will
Will Moverley is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 11, 2006, 10:55 AM   #2

format it FAT16 not 32
bernabeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 11:12 AM   #3

Hi, i have tryed it both FAT32, and FAT16 now.

But, as far as i can see from the manuals and articles on the web, the s9500 should support FAT32 formated microdrives up to 6gb ( with the firmware upgrade )

Its very weird..
Old Apr 11, 2006, 2:49 PM   #4

I know lots of people had many problems with the old 2.2gb Magicstor drives (they cannot be called microdrives as that trademarked name belongs to Hitachi). That said, I have not seen any feedback either positive or negative about larger (and I assume newer) Magicstor drives on any of the many camera forums I read. I have personally used a 2gb Hitachi microdrive for over two years in my S7000 with no problems whatever.

Clyde
Clyde Atkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2006, 2:55 PM   #5