Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Old Apr 21, 2003, 10:08 PM   #1

Default S602z - Taking pics of fast moving objects

Hi,

As the subject says, Im trying to take pictures of RC Model Cars whilst there racing. So far, im getting great motion-blur images, but its not exactly what im looking for!!

Im relatively new to decent camera's, and as my first Fuji digicam died on my about 6 months ago (i think it was due to moisture through Mountain Biking in low clouds!!) and as i've got loads of Smart media cards, and liked the Fuji camera's i knew i wanted to continue with them. My mind was pretty much made when i tried the 6900z and thats when i fell in love, the 602 was about 200 more than i'd planned on spending, but i didnt have any say in the matter, i had to have it!

So, all this F5.6 and ISO 200 stuff is quite confusing.
I've spent the last 30min or so playing with the settings, and when i increase the ISO to 1000 using the 'command dial' and take a picture, i get black! and its not until i get to about 50 that its about right.
So, im lost!

Can someone give me a nudge in the right direction?

The photo object as i mentioned is moving RC cars, and the distances range from 60 meters to 5 meters, and i'd love to be able to get some decent action shots from big events.
Lighting i'd say would be Average to poor, most would be indoors under artifical light obviously.

Hope thats a decent bit of info on the conditions.

Thanks,

PaulC2K
PaulC2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 22, 2003, 10:11 AM   #2

Here's the briefest of 'nudges'. You're getting confused between ISO setting, like film speed, and shutter speed (like shutter speed)