Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 14, 2006, 2:43 AM   #1
Member
 
Ray_wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 37
Default

Has hard as I try I am hjaving trouble getting the Bulb setting when I am in manual mose, any help please, cheers Ray
Ray_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 14, 2006, 1:32 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
algold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Israel
Posts: 369
Default

Hi, Ray.

In manual mode just rotate the command dial CW till you get to 30" setting, the next click after 30" is B (bulb) mode. It's limited to 30" in S9000/9500.

HTH

Alex
algold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2006, 1:38 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20
Default

what is bulb mode?
inadhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2006, 2:42 PM   #4
Member
 
Ray_wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 37
Default

Hi Alex, Thanks for that, it's been driving me nut's and thanks again for taking the time to help me out, cheers Ray
Ray_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2006, 2:48 PM   #5
Member
 
Ray_wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 37
Default

Bulb mode , the shutter stays open for as long as the shutter button is held down (up to 30 seconds)
Ray_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2006, 3:11 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
algold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Israel
Posts: 369
Default

Was glad to help. That's what this forum is all about, right?

Alex
algold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2006, 3:32 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 207
Default

Do all DSC have 'bulb" mode? Thanks in advance.

picsgalore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2006, 6:41 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
algold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Israel
Posts: 369
Default

A short answer is no, a longer answer - in depends on the camera model. Usually you can find out about it in the camera manual, or in Steve's reviews. Just look for this info in the camera's spec section, shutter speed range. It shows something like: 30-1/2000 s, ..............., B (Bulb) or T (Time) for some cameras. Sometimes this mode exists but is not mentioned in a review (the camera's spec in a review of Fuji S9500 doesn't mention Bulb mode, for example).

HTH,

Alex
algold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2006, 7:44 PM   #9
Baz
Senior Member
 
Baz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 219
Default

Why is it called "Bulb", you may ask? Well here's a little history.

The very early large plate studio cameras did not have a timed shutter.

The opening & closing of the shutter was controlled by a bulb at the end of a tube. Squezzing the bulb opened the shutter, & releasing the bulb closed it. The ISO sensitivity of the early photographic plates was very slow, and so exposures of 1/2 sec or more were required. The photographers got very skillful at estimating when to release the bulb for the required exposure time.

Hence we now still call this function "Bulb" for when the shutter is opened & closed by pressing & releasing the shutter button.

Baz.


Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:38 PM.