Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Fujifilm

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Aug 9, 2006, 11:25 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29
Default

My camera is on auto mode and 5mp
I photos I used to take with my dsc-p93 were much much better compared to this.

Any tips?
Attached Images
 
Gurbakash is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 9, 2006, 11:30 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,063
Default

Right below where you type your message, there is an input box with a "Browse" button. All you have to do is click on Browse and locate your image and double click on it. Then, just send your message. Please note that you will probably have to resize your image. 800x600 at 72 PPI is about right.

If you have everything on Auto there is a possibility that your camera is choosing a high ISO. Auto is not the best setting to use. It's time to start experimenting with your camera at different settings, different modes, different ISO, etc. so that you can discover how your camera will best perform for you.
jphess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 11:36 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29
Default

What do I use to resize my image? Photoshop? And how?

Thanks and thanks again for the advice!
Gurbakash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2006, 12:23 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,063
Default

If you have Photoshop, just open your image and then go to Image/Image Size. Make sure that the Resample option is selected, and then change the pixel size in the top set of input boxes. If you change one pixel number, the other one will change automatically to maintain the proper aspect ratio.
jphess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 5:59 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
marksandspencers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Default

If Photoshop ever gets a bit too complex for you try Adobe's Lightroom Beta, it's free and works beautifully, especially with RAW files (not many programs like Fuji's RAF, are there any extensions I can get for Photoshop CS2 to allow it to work with RAF? Currently I'm converting to .tiff to edit in Photoshop). Pixmantec Rawshooter Essentials is also very very good. I've always hated using auto mode on the Fuji, the whole reason I bought it was to have more creative control. The link to the Lightroom Download page is below:

Code:
https://www.adobe.com/cfusion/entitlement/index.cfm?e=labs%5Flightroom
You'll need to register with Adobe to get it, but they only send the occasional e-mail, and I've always found their products to be very helpful.
marksandspencers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 7:33 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29
Default

Thanks marksandspencers.

I've uploaded the picture (sorry it took so long)!
Gurbakash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 8:21 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
marksandspencers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
Default

No problem
marksandspencers is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 AM.