Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums >

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Sep 2, 2010, 4:36 AM   #1
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 53
Default can i buy from getitdigital or amazon or ebay?


I want to buy Canon 550 kit deal. I have found some good sites for it.

1) http://www.getitdigital.com/category...ategory=270042
2) Amazon also provides many kits
3) EBAY like

I am unable to understand whether i purchase from these kit offers or buy separate things from some trustworthy store which definitely cost more.

Can any experienced person resolve my this problem?

eshban is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 2, 2010, 6:00 AM   #2
Senior Member
shoturtle's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Frankfurt AM
Posts: 11,348

Amazon would be a good online site to get the camera.

Ebay, I am not to keen on if you do not know the merchant. But there are good merchants that do sell on ebay like adorama.

Never heard of getitdigital

Where are you located?
Super Frequent Flyer, no joke. Ex Patriot and loving it.
Canon Eos 60D, T1i/500D, Eos1, Eos 630, Olympus EPL-1, and a part time Pentax K-X shooter.
shoturtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2010, 6:28 AM   #3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 53

then why ebay and getitdigital sell at cheap price?
eshban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2010, 3:38 PM   #4
Senior Member
VTphotog's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Extreme Northeastern Vermont, USA
Posts: 4,309

Some stores sell 'gray market' cameras, both on ebay and other places, for lower prices - see some of the threads by searching 'gray market'. Other places sell cameras packaged in kits with a lot of accessories which are of poor quality, and if you compare them to the same kits from reputable dealers, they will often be cheaper. That is where their profit comes from.

VTphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2010, 8:05 PM   #5
Senior Member
JustinThyme's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 361

Avoid fleabay and off the wall online retailers.
Amazon is a good place to look that usually ends up being another retailer.
Want to see a real competitve price that wont get you something other than what you want? Look at B&H or Adorama. If its priced less than these guys have listed there is either a catch like oh a battery is extra or gray market gear with no warranty in the US, even worse.....you pay and never hear from them again. Never trust a site that doesnt have a physical address in the contact info and if they do and you are not aware then google map it! It may be an abandoned building in Brooklyn!
JustinThyme is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.