Steve's Digicams Forums

Steve's Digicams Forums (https://forums.steves-digicams.com/)
-   General Discussion (https://forums.steves-digicams.com/general-discussion-11/)
-   -   Smugmug site totally redesigned (https://forums.steves-digicams.com/general-discussion-11/smugmug-site-totally-redesigned-207447/)

zig-123 Jul 31, 2013 3:52 PM

Smugmug site totally redesigned

I've been a user of Smugmug Pro as a photo hosting site for some time now.
Curious to hear from users of smugmug your impressions regarding the completely new redesign of their site.

Zig

TCav Jul 31, 2013 4:22 PM

There must be something going around. Flickr made a whole lot of changes recently as well.

zig-123 Aug 1, 2013 7:48 AM

Hi TCav,

I think that there is ever increasing competition to photo hosting sites such as Smugmug, PBase, etc. that are eating away at their existing customer base. They have to continue to offer programs and updates to their existing customers in order to keep them & attract new users.
I have a Pro acct. which has an annual fee of $150. With it comes a fair amount of features that allows me an opportunity to show my work as well as sell my photos online without the cost of building my own website.
my understanding is Flicker does not charge. Is that correct?

TCav Aug 1, 2013 8:15 AM

On May 20, Flickr went through a massive change. Flickr doesn't use thumbnails anymore. Instead, it displays a "Justified" view that individually scales each image so it fits within a page. As a result, horizontal images get much more screen real estate than vertical images, but more important, pages take forever to display.

And recently, Flickr changed the layout of the Groups pages, making the discussions less useable, in favor of a "Justified" view of the Pool photos. It's a whole different look, and Flickr seems to ignore the problems and criticisms.

I'm a moderator for the Sony Camera Club, a sponsored group on Flickr, and I've been very disappointed with the changes.