Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Sep 4, 2006, 7:20 AM   #1

Hi all,

I have been taking pictures using fixed-lens/P&S cameras for a few years now. I'm hoping to satrt using a DSLR within the next few months, as I may be taking a few courses on the subject to get me started.

THIS IS NOT A WHICH CAMERA SHOULD I BUY from a newbie THREAD! :roll:

Instead its a practical question. I have NO experience with SLRs, and one new feature I've been noticing is the Image Stabilizer. I'm about to buy either the Sony A100 or the Canon EOS 400D (when it is released), but my choice depends on whether Image Stabilisation is best built into the camera or the lens.

Firstly, by your humble opinions, is Image Stabilization very important?

Secondly, which type is best? I don't have alot of money to spend, but understand a good lens is very important. My concern is that the Sony Carl Ziess Lens' and Sony Alpha Professional Lens' are very expensive. The Sony can use Minolta/Minolta MountLenses, and I may buy even the older models and get the IS on them via the camera.

Obviously the Canon requires you to purchase their special IS Lens, which are also expensive.

So, should someone without a huge budget buy the Canon and pay for the IS Lens (Please note I don't know much about what an expensive or value lens is in monetary terms), or get the Sony with a cheaper lens?

I want a good all-rounder.

Thanks in advance for any of your advice,

Pavan :-)

navap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 4, 2006, 7:29 AM   #2

Pavan, NOT puting down Canon, Sony etc., but any reason why you have not considered Pentax!?

Visit that forum in the dSLR section of this board.
nlp239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2006, 7:48 AM   #3

Hi,