Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Oct 1, 2006, 6:47 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
BenjaminXYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 788
Default

24 mm - 120 mm (5 x) zoom lens with F2.8 - F4.8 aperture.

Does anyone know at which focal length does the R1 start to lose it's F/2.8 aperture?

It would be better if someone can even tell the respective max aperture at all the focal lengths of the R1's zoom lens.

It would be great if some users of the R1 fix lens pro can come in here and inform! However, if you know the informations; kindly please let me know.

Regards.



BenjaminXYZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 1, 2006, 8:29 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 851
Default

It begins to change almost immediately.

At a zoom of 1.2x it is up to f3.2 (~30mm)
At a zoom of 1.8x it goes to f3.5 (~40mm)
At a zoom of 2.1x it goes to f4 (~50mm)
At a zoom of 2.8x it goes to f4.5 (~70mm)
and at a zoom of 3.9x it goes to f4.8 (~95mm)

The zoom x factor is taken from the R1 zoom display setting and the focal length is a guesstimate based on the lens markings.
amazingthailand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2006, 9:35 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
BenjaminXYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 788
Default

Thank you amazingthailand!

Anyway, I cannot help itby getting abit disappointed. :-)I was hoping it could get somewhere near to 50 mm with that F/2.8 aperture! (Guess I am ridiculous; the R1 lens is one of the BEST!)

Maybea lensisn't all about F/2.8 apertures? Anyway, it is good to know that it doesn't exceeds the F/4.8 aperture even at the 120 mm range.

Regards.


BenjaminXYZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2006, 10:43 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,066
Default

not sure Benjamin but it probably has a pretty good iso performance, being an APS-C sized sensor and all, so you will get some stops back with that

Riley
Rriley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2006, 11:38 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
BenjaminXYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 788
Default

The SONY DSC-R1 doesn't have a bad high ISO performance at all. ISO 160 - ISO 1600are fully usable.

The ISO 1600 still produces high quality images in brighter lighting conditions, but start to have a significant amount of shadow noises in darker situations (Especially from thered & blue channels).

It'sISO 3200 feature is still usable for emergency situations.

The noise characteristics of the R1'slive preview CMOS tend to be very chroma like. Basically, the R1 have very high shadow noises.



BenjaminXYZ is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 9:02 AM.