Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jun 7, 2003, 10:43 AM   #1

Default photography and the law!

ello,

i took some photos at a racing meeting of people just generally being people

and i'm wondering if there are any issue involved in printing / using them on my website

thanks

www.davidbaird.myby.co.uk
davebaird is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 7, 2003, 6:09 PM   #2

This is discussed often in the newsgroups. Go to http://groups.google.com and search on "taking photos in public"

Here in the US taking pictures on public property is fair game. I'm no legal expert, but AFAIK anything visible to the public on public property is permitted. I recently went to a MLB (baseball) game and had concerns about taking my camera. I went to the MLB web page where it says that all cameras are permitted, including video cameras. I guess it depends on the rules of the arena you visited. Also, did you pay to be admitted to this event? That also can be a factor.
PrmseKpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2003, 6:38 PM   #3

UK (EU) and US law may be totally different. I once had an unfriendly encounter with a house owner as I was taking a pic of his house. I argued that as the building was visible from the public road, I was shooting from the highway and there was no person in shot, there was no intrusion of personal rights or privacy.

I gave the guy a business card and said 'have your lawyer contact me'. I found out afterwards the owner was a lawyer, no further contact was made so I reckon I'd rested my case!

My own interpretation has been if you can see things in a place where you and others have a right to be, then capturing a scene and sharing it with others, who could have had the same right to be there, but weren't is OK. Perhaps somebody working in UK for the press (The Sun?) could help with a better answer.
voxmagna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2003, 9:50 PM   #4