Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jun 9, 2003, 10:19 PM   #1

Default Digital Camera Choice - need unbiased opinion

Hi all...

New to posting but have been doing a lot of research here in the last couple weeks. I am looking for a new digital camera (our sony mavica fd85 having died) and think I have narrowed my search down to the Oly c4000z. My main subject matter is my 18mo old son, both indoor and outdoor pictures, still and action shots. I'm a novice photographer but I want something that will grow with me as I learn to play with settings. I wanted at least 3mp, minimal time between shots, and a continuous picture/burst mode, and priced less than $500. My main priority is picture quality, though, and from what I've read, the c4000z is exceptional in this area (especially with indoor photos). My only other limitation is that I don't want a canon (husband works for direct competitor). Anyone out there have a suggestion for another camera that would be better for my situation?

thanks in advance

carla
aidansmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 9, 2003, 10:22 PM   #2

Default unbiased opinion

i was just thinking about asking for an "unbiased opinion" and that doesn't really make sense as people will post with their experiences with their camera... so....... please post with any opinions :lol:

carla
Old Jun 9, 2003, 10:32 PM   #3

Ok... my biased opinion is that the C4000 would make an excellent choice in your price range. The Oly C-3xxx and C-4xxx series as a whole have excellent optics and mix a useful blend of auto-pilot (point-n-shoot) features with manual over rides that suit a wide variety of users, and will probably suit you for a long time to come.
jawz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2003, 11:01 PM   #4
NTT