Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 19, 2006, 5:32 PM   #1

Hello experts
I'm a newbie here and I learned a lot so far from your expertise. However, I need your expert advice on my situation. I'm having a drag racing event in the next couple of days and need your help in the prefered settings based on my equipment.

Camera: Nikon D70
Lens: Nikkor 18-70 mm (The one came with the camera)
Lens: Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6
Flash: SB-800 with diffuser and gel films
Tripod
Wireless remote control

Most probably I will be using the 18-200mm lens but what do you recommend for ISO, shutter speed and so forth?
Personally, I'm thinking of setting the ISO at 400 and putting the camera in the shutter preferred "S" mode
yraffah is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 19, 2006, 8:53 PM   #2

A dark lens shooting action at night? Hope the track lighting is good!

I dont know what type of shot your going for, so I'm not sure what shutter speed you'll need. If you are close to the track and use a fairly wide angle you'll have a brigter aperture availible. I found that even at 1/350-1/500 at 28mm shooting an ATV rather close and panning, my motion blurred the background (or left a blurry atv if I didnt pan). That expirience would sugest you might need at VERY high shutter speed to freeze motion. Not such a problem if your shooting stationary cars. You could probably go much slower (1/60??) if your panning, but I have only seen other peoples examples at that speed. Keep rate would probably be fairly low at that extreme.

If you need to crank up the iso, go for it and dont look back. You cant un-blur a picture in photoshop but you can reduce noise pretty well.

Iso3200 looks spectacular in B&W.