Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Nov 13, 2006, 12:20 PM   #1

I recently took some engagement shots of my friends daughter and her fiance. It was my first time doing anything like that and I did it as a favor. So she goes to Wally World with a disk I gave her and they wouldn't develop them because "they're professional"! They wanted a letter from me giving them permission.

I don't get it. Even if they were professional, doesn't me giving her a disk void any copyright? And if I did give them a letter, how do they know it was really me? Is this really a problem for you guys and gals that are pros?

Since I'm not a pro, I don't see it as a major problem for me, but how can it be avoided in the future?
DrChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 13, 2006, 12:45 PM   #2

Basically copyright belongs to the photographer unless they sign it away, so giving someone a disc of your pictures doesn't give them the right to do anything but view them.
As for the letter: I suppose they don't really have anyway of knowing it was you that wrote it (or even you that took the photos!), but what it does mean is if you later tried to sue them for printing your work without permission they can say "we were given what appeared to be genuiune proof of this person's right to order prints, so you'll have to sue them instead!".
MrPogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2006, 12:54 PM   #3