Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 6, 2006, 3:23 PM   #1

Hello, recently I came across a pretty good deal on a brand new Canon dSLR XTi that seemed to be a pretty good deal. I can get a new Canon dSLR XTi (10 megapixels) with 2kit lens (18-55mm and 70-300mm) for $899. Its a xmas deal

Currently I shoot with a Minolta 5D. I am a still advanced beginner- intermediate photographer. I shoot alot of landscape, nature,traveland street photography. I am happy with the Minolta but at times wish I had more lens options but I adore the anti-shake.

I am however wondering if there will be a big differencebetween my 6 megapixelMinolta 5D and the Canon 400D/XTi (10 megapixel) or if i should just hold off. I don't have a whole host of lens for my Minolta (just a 50mm, 18-70mm, 70-300) so changing lens systems isnt really a big problem. I know alot of people say that there isnt too much difference between a 6-8 megapixel camera and not too much between the 8-10 megapixel camera. My minolta currently takes fairly good photos, but I would like the option to be able to print much larger pictures.

Guess Im just looking for some advice, is that camera dealdecent enough to not pass up or will I be wasting my money since there isnt too much difference between the new camera and my current one.

Apologies, Im still learning and taking classes. Thanks in advance.
Jinkage is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 6, 2006, 5:44 PM   #2

there is not much difference between 6mp and 10mp if you are talking about print size smaller then 8 1/2 x11. I would not get the Canon Rebel XTi because it has 10mp, it I would it because it has other stuff that your minolta can't do.