Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jun 26, 2003, 1:08 PM   #1

Default flash usage question

Here is a link to a recent picture I took (posted to the wildlife section):

http://www.stevesforums.com/phpBB2/v...ic.php?t=11378

I had asked people to feel free to edit the picture to improve it. Klaus did that, and posted something more like what I had wanted to do myself (I'm not good with PS, ya see.)

This got me me wondering about flash usage. Is there any chance that I could have used a flash to fill in the front side of the heron, but not blow the hilight that Klaus fixed so well? Did I need a lower power flash setting? A higher aperture? flash sync prevented a higher shutter speed. Could it have been done at all? Use a better flash? If so, how? Any ideas?

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 27, 2003, 2:50 AM   #2

Default Re: flash usage question

Quote:
Originally Posted by eric s
Is there any chance that I could have used a flash to fill in the front side of the heron, but not blow the hilight that Klaus fixed so well? Did I need a lower power flash setting? A higher aperture? flash sync prevented a higher shutter speed. Could it have been done at all? Use a better flash? If so, how? Any ideas?