Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 15, 2007, 1:36 PM   #1

Hi, I was wondering...since I have little money and NEED a good DSLR camera if there are any online stores that sell dslr's like canon 350d DIGITAL etc. for under $150-$200? Or any stores that let you pay a down payment? Please help, I am a macro photographer and my current camera is NOT useful to me anymore.
pauljames is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 15, 2007, 3:42 PM   #2

That's a tall order.

http://www.keh.com sells used equipment. The best I could find is a Pentax *ist DL in EX+ condition for $299, but that's without a lens.

You might do better at ebay.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2007, 10:52 PM   #3

Going for a used camera like the *ist is probably your best option. Modern Pentax DSLRs support old film SLR lenses, so you could also get the lenses cheap if you don't mind manual focus. I don't know of any comparable option.
Corpsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2007, 10:46 AM   #4
Administrator

pauljames wrote:
Quote:
Please help, I am a macro photographer and my current camera is NOT useful to me anymore.
What kind of macros?

A decent macro lens alone will probably cost you more than your budget for a camera.

It all depends on how small your subject is and how much of the frame you want it to occupy. The desired distance from your subject also comes into play (since you may not want to cast shadows or spook smaller subjects, a longer lens may be better).

In third party lenses, there a few choices that receive high marks from users. Macro lenses are rated by their magnification.