Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 29, 2007, 10:46 AM   #1

According to various reviews, it seems to me that all but the most expensive DSLRs have similar RAW picture quality at ISO 100-400 settings regardless thesensor's nativeresolution. However, at higher ISO settings differences between cameras become more and more visible.

As a novice, I would like to know what are the typical available light shooting situations when higher ISO settings are needed in order to getsufficiently exposed image when shooting:

1) out of hand whithout any kind of shake reduction
2) even with a tripod

In order to narrow my question I'm adding a list of lenses I intend to use:

a) 50/1.8 prime,perhaps 85/1.8
b) 17-50/2.8 (Tamron, perhaps)
c) not to expensive telezoom

Action shooting is not a point of my interest. I intend to postprocess chosen RAW images with computer software for the best results and make calendar sized prints not too rarely, so that's why I'm asking this question, mainly. It will help me to choose the right camera for me.

THANKS in advance!
mirkoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 29, 2007, 11:02 AM   #2

mirkoc wrote:
Quote:
As a novice, I would like to know what are the typical available light shooting situations when higher ISO settings are needed in order to getsufficiently exposed image when shooting:

1) out of hand whithout any kind of shake reduction
2) even with a tripod

In order to narrow my question I'm adding a list of lenses I intend to use:

a) 50/1.8 prime,perhaps 85/1.8
b) 17-50/2.8 (Tamron, perhaps)
c) not to expensive telezoom

Action shooting is not a point of my interest. I intend to postprocess chosen RAW images with computer software for the best results and make calendar sized prints not too rarely, so that's why I'm asking this question, mainly. It will help me to choose the right camera for me.

THANKS in advance!