Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 29, 2007, 6:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 69
Default

I have a Canon 20D and would like to know how many picture has been taken with it. Is there a way, and could you describe how to go about it.
Thanks
stoltzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 29, 2007, 11:05 PM   #2
rey
Senior Member
 
rey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 949
Default

Use this software:
http://www.opanda.com/en/iexif/index.html

rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2007, 2:07 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Caboose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 625
Default

correct me if I am wrong, but I don't think that program will tell you how many shutter actuations your camera has had. If I'm not mistaken, there is no real way to tell on the 20D.
Caboose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2007, 3:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,396
Default

Caboose is correct, the information is not present in the 20d's exif.
Canon decided to not make the shutter activation information available in their non pro bodies.

It can be read in the 1d series image information, and a Canon Service Center should be able to get the information out of the 20D camera with their diagnostic bench.
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2007, 3:04 PM   #5
rey
Senior Member
 
rey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 949
Default

Caboose wrote:
Quote:
correct me if I am wrong, but I don't think that program will tell you how many shutter actuations your camera has had. If I'm not mistaken, there is no real way to tell on the 20D.
you're right! i guess i assumed all manufacturer would have that esily available...
I got this one from google, maybe it works:
http://digital-photography-school.co...read.php?t=196

rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2007, 7:57 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,396
Default

Ohhh, interesting find :!:
I'll have to try that when I scurry home.
So far nothing I've tried has been able to find the count.

I know approximately how many images my 20D has taken, and I shoot raw, so I should be able to verify if the number is anywhere close to what I think it should be.
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2007, 11:27 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,396
Default

Drat I was really hopeing it would work but unfortunately no go
Here are some values I got using the XVI32 hexeditor, includeing for the very first image I took out of the camera.
The field is changeing but does not show much pattern.

Code:
$95d  actual
value image
6401  0001

7400  1512
7401  1513

8943  3823
8944  3824
8945  3825
8946  3826
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2007, 12:37 AM   #8
rey
Senior Member
 
rey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 949
Default

PeterP wrote:
Quote:
Drat I was really hopeing it would work but unfortunately no go
Here are some values I got using the XVI32 hexeditor, includeing for the very first image I took out of the camera.
The field is changeing but does not show much pattern.

Code:
$95d  actual
value image
6401  0001

7400  1512
7401  1513

8943  3823
8944  3824
8945  3825
8946  3826
Do you by any chance have the 95D,95E value for image 1511 ? I'm curious to see what happens to "7400" minus one image.





rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2007, 12:11 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,396
Default

Interesting but still can't make out a pattern for the jumps.
This exercize did show me I really need to stop keeping too much, and go purge old bad images :?

Code:
Actual $95d
image value
0001  6401

1496 7384
missing files
1505 7393
missing file
1507 7395
1508 7396
1509  7397
1510  7398
missing file
1512 7400
1513  7401

1999  7631
2000  7632
missing file
2002  7890
2003  7891

2999  8375
3000  8376
3001  8377
3002  8378

3823 8943
3824  8944
3825 8945
3826  8946
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2007, 1:17 PM   #10
rey
Senior Member
 
rey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 949
Default

well... i give up. it looks like there is some pattern, but i can't figure it out. i'm really surprised canon makes it so hard to get this info.

rey is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:36 AM.