Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 30, 2007, 9:09 AM   #1

Over the weekend I was hiking along a snow covered trail which runs alongside a series of waterfalls. I wanted to slow down the shutter enough so that the water looked like it was moving. But, when I did this, obviously the image sensor was then obsorbing too much light. I tried to compensate by taking the aperature to F8 and then I set the ISO to 50. But, ataround 1/40 second, it was still too bright. What do you do in a situation like this? Is this where filters come in handy? I've never used filters before. BTW, the camera in question is a PS Canon A520.
Contriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 30, 2007, 9:46 AM   #2

I think what you want would be a neutral density filter.

Another approach to try might be, assuming you are working off a tripod, to take multiple exposures and combine them after in photoshop (or other software).

kenbalbari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2007, 9:59 AM   #3

Contriver wrote:
Quote:
Over the weekend I was hiking along a snow covered trail which runs alongside a series of waterfalls. I wanted to slow down the shutter enough so that the water looked like it was moving. But, when I did this, obviously the image sensor was then obsorbing too much light. I tried to compensate by taking the aperature to F8 and then I set the ISO to 50. But, ataround 1/40 second, it was still too bright. What do you do in a situation like this? Is this where filters come in handy? I've never used filters before. BTW, the camera in question is a PS Canon A520.
This is what a neutral density filter is made for. However, before you buy one, you should be able to close the aperture down much more to f/22 or f/32. That's the first way to block out light, and it will make focusing much easier since the DOF will be huge. Setting the ISO as low as you can is also smart but I think you've maxed that out at ISO50.

Russ