Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Feb 25, 2007, 11:33 PM   #1

My wedding is going to be in 6 month from today and I need help picking a wedding photographer. I am not asking for suggestion on who I should go with but more on what I should look for.

I am an serious amateur photographer myself but I never got into wedding photography. I am more into landscape and street photography. I would do the photos myself but unfortunately I have to be in the wedding. :blah: But I do have some questions on what I should look at for my package.

What kind of question should I be asking for in my package? What should I expect from my package and the photographer themselves?

I heard some of them saying that they will give me a digital negative(a DVD of all the photos in high quality jpeg) which I thought is really good. Is this pretty common for them to do that? Until I went to the wedding convention today, I didn't think photographers would do that. I know they didn't in the pre-digital days.

Is it good to buy a package without the photo album? There was only ONE photographer that I talked to said that I didn't need to buy a photo album if I didn't want to if I wanted to save money or make my own.

The photo album that they make. Is there a program that generate the album to a certain layout? One photographer that I talked to said that all of his work are custom while almost all of the other are generated layout with a program. What truth is this?

Limited number of photos.
A photographer said that he would only shot xxx amount of photos only. His excuse was that because he shoots in all RAW file, and since it was really big files, he can only fit a certain number on his card. So depending on the package that I buy, it will determin the about of photos that he will shot. This is not the amount of photos that he will print. Is it right for me to call this BS?

Anything else I should look/ask for?

superakuma is offline   Reply With Quote