Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 13, 2003, 11:09 AM   #1

Default HELP WITH COMPARISON TO SLR

I grew up in the 50's using a manual SLR 35mm & have a programable/manual Pentax with a 35 - 135 mm lens I have been using for several years. In December I got an Olympus 2040 & I love the pictures. I don't use the SLR anymore. I miss the zoom I could get with the SLR. I am looking for a solution. I have considered a zoom lens for the 2040 or getting a higher megapixel digital. I'm looking for some help in what is best solution. I am also concerned that I will be as happy with the pictures on a different digital as I am with the 2040.
nglawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 13, 2003, 12:42 PM   #2

Have you looked at other Olys like the C-750? This camera (and most of the other C-7x0 series) have a 10x optical zoom that's 38mm-380mm (35mm equivalent). I mention the C-750 because it's the best of the lot so far (I say that as a C-700 user who has studied them all).

You can get a tele-converter for your 2040, but you'd have to use the LCD all the time because the optical viewfinder doesn't let you see through the lens. To get that benefit, you'd need a camera that's either a dSLR or an EVF (Electronic View Finder) like the C-7x0 uses.

The only thing about the C-7x0 is that it has a slower lens (only opens up to f2.8 while your camera can go down to f1.8).
Mike_PEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2003, 2:11 PM   #3

Thanks mike, I'll look at the O 740.
Norma
nglawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2003, 2:32 PM   #4

The 740 is missing a few features, namely sound with videos, no external flash socket (you have to use a slave), no remote capability, and the MP isn't as high as it is on the 750.
Old Jul 13, 2003, 4:11 PM   #5