Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 13, 2003, 4:50 PM   #1

Default Experienced Photographer looking for preferred DigiCam

Hello. I'm an experienced amateur photographer. I have some experience developing and printing. I used a Canon FTB for many years with a host of canon and aftermarket lenses and opted to replace it only when it was stolen. I got my current SLR, an AE1. Several years ago a friend passed on to me an Olympus digi camera. 2 mgpix, no zoom, very basic, Smart Card storage. I have played around with it for three years and am set to buy a good, but not too expensive, digital. I like to print, but am not interested in anything greater than 8 X 10 now and then. I am far more interested in flexibility, control over shutter speeds, f-stops and so forth. I want a camera I can stick in my pocket, but still see the buttons. I want crisp pictures that measure up to 4 X 6. I want to be able to crop to clear pix from 8 X 10. I also want the ability to blur when I choose, create effects with filters and apply filter effects to the image. I understand the software available for doing such work is of good quality.