Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 14, 2003, 12:02 PM   #1

Default Can I Use a Lense To Increase Macro Capabilties?

I am new to the world of digital photography and before I go purchasing any cameras (see my post http://www.stevesforums.com/phpBB2/v...ic.php?t=11927 ) , I would like to ask; if I buy a camera which can not focus for macro closer than 6" (ie Minolta Models), will I be able to buy a macro lens to allow me to get closer? Are they relatively expensive?(I'll be on a tight budget after I purchase the camera). Are there any drawbacks to using a lens?
Thanks in advance,
Regards,
Matthew
caramelcord is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 14, 2003, 12:35 PM   #2

In general , there are many ways to do so. You can use close-up add-on lenses (filter style) to increase the macro capability. I had used cokin close-up filter since SLR film camera. You can also use a reversed SLR lense to act as a macro add-on lense (see the thread below)
http://www.stevesforums.com/phpBB2/v...ight=nikkor+50

A 50mm, 1.8 SLR lense can be found used at relatively cheap. A cokin flter (+1,2,3) can also be found at quite low price.
You can also use a magnifying glass , worth the experience although vigneting is terrible, but it adds an artistic touch also
All the above methods work with my D7i
KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2003, 12:38 PM   #3

It's good that you're asking this before you buy.

With most digitals with retracting lenses you buy what's called a filter tube adapter which screws into the body and allows you to attach filters and lenses to the camera (unlike SLRs which allow you to screw directly onto the lens).