Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 18, 2003, 2:01 AM   #1

Default Could use help deciding on a camera

I thought I had determined which camera I was going to buy, however, after reading a few more reviews, perhaps not. I am looking for a camera for around $500-$600. I need a camera that I can catch the action. I have 2 young children and they are of course active. And they are both in sports activities, etc. I want something with a rather good zoom and of course gives WONDERFUL photos. I'm still learning in the photography area, but I want something that I can use auto or manual settings. Any suggestions? I feel overwhelmed and like maybe I should start my research all over again. My poor family thinks I've taken up residence in the computer chair. :? thanks!!
picture taker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 19, 2003, 10:11 PM   #2

I would take a look at the Canon G2 or G3. The latest is a G5 model but it is a little above your price range. If you could get your hands on a used G2 or a new G3 at a decent price I would highly recommend these cameras. I would not buy a camera that didn't support compact flash cards. Canon seems to be the most aggressive in the digital market and I have had good success with their products. Good luck.
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2003, 10:50 PM   #3

picture taker - For action, and in the price range you specify--- Fuji s602. Very good AF speed/lag and very powerful burst modes(5fps), including a precapture buffered mode(last 5). You might also consider teh Olympus E-10(you can find refurbished ones for in your price range), as it has even quick AF then the Fuji, but nowhere near teh cycle times or burst modes of the Fuji.

Good luck.

-Chris
WmAx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2003, 11:20 PM   #4

Get an Olympus. :lol:
eXPerience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2003, 11:39 PM   #5

Hi Picture Taker,