Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Apr 9, 2007, 9:36 AM   #1

I'm pretty new to the business of digital cams and photography as a whole. I bought my Fuji S6500FD about a month ago after much indecision about the pros and cons of IS over ISO. As I have learned to use my camera, I think I've figured out some of the jargon, in what all these gimmicks mean in real world photography. Though I might be wrong as well.

I am now convinced that IS is just a convenient substitute for a tripod. IS solves one end of the problem in low-light photography, but it can't help in capturing subject movement sinced you will inevitably use a slow shutter speed.

Good ISO is the way to go and is the future of digital cameras. A high ISO solves both the problems of camera shake and capturing subject movement. So shouldn't improving ISO be the main motivation behind camera manufacturing companies? Why are newer cameras forever coming out with the same mediocre ISO performances of older models? Anyone know?
Shahmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 9, 2007, 10:40 AM   #2

Shahmatt wrote:
Quote:
Why are newer cameras forever coming out with the same mediocre ISO performances of older models? Anyone know?
Because there is a limit to how sensitive they can make the image sensor. However you do it, sometimes, there's just not enough light.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2007, 1:10 PM   #3

Shahmatt wrote:
Quote:
I am now convinced that IS is just a convenient substitute for a tripod. IS solves one end of the problem in low-light photography, but it can't help in capturing subject movement sinced you will inevitably use a slow shutter speed.

Why are newer cameras forever coming out with the same mediocre ISO performances of older models? Anyone know?