Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 30, 2003, 1:15 AM   #1

Default black and white photos with digital camera???

Id like to shoot black and white photos on a digital camera...but how do I know what to look for in a certain camera? (im new to digital cameras)

also, if i took a photo and processed it in b&w ...could it lookas good as this picture?

Keep in mind that im aware that this photo as taken by a professional with a VERY expensive camera....I assume

example:

http://imagecache2.allposters.com/images/IMA/F40.jpg
digicam is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 30, 2003, 1:34 AM   #2

Well, many digital cameras have a B&W mode built in, and the benefit of that is you can see the B&W picture ahead of time on the LCD/EVF. If not, you can convert the picture to B&W in most photo editing programs.

Note that you won't achieve the quality of that professional photographer with a consumer digital. Especially since the professional is probably using B&W film while in digital you are converting colour images to B&W (either in camera or the computer).

But the most important thing with photography like your sample is proper lighting.
Mike_PEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2003, 1:48 AM   #3

Also when shooting b&w, make sure the subject is contrasty enough, otherwise it could look muddy gray and dull. See how the eyes of the cat contrast with its wet fur, and the border around the bath tub with the gray background? That adds interest. A great photograph doesn't necessarily require a great camera or the highest resolution film/digital medium.
marokero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2003, 3:56 AM   #4
Boo