Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old May 20, 2007, 6:39 AM   #1

i am not a professional photographer.. actually, im off to buy my first camera. im just looking for compact cameras that i can take with me everyday. ill be taking pictures mostly when i travel, or when im with friends, or when i go out for clubbing and stuff like that. now my question.. is image stabilization a must have feature?
bimmerboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 20, 2007, 8:23 AM   #2

bimmerboi wrote:
Quote:
... , or when i go out for clubbing ...
If that is going to be a major issue, image sabilization *MIGHT* let you work at a slow enough shutter speed in low light. There is a good chance that you won't be able to get any photo even with IS in a compact camera.

IS is usefull, but watch out that you are really getting IS. Some cameras advertise IS when what they are really doing is bosting ISO with the increase in noise that comes with that.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2007, 8:23 AM   #3

Desirable? Yes. Must have? No. Like any other feature your situation dictates the effectiveness. IS comes in handy mostfor those long hand-held tele shots or times when you may not be able to steady the camera (one-handed shooting, for example). While you used to pay quite a premium for this feature it is now available on some models for only a modest mark-up, so the question is rapidly becoming moot.
stowaway7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2007, 8:37 AM   #4

I just bought my first camera that has this the Sony H5 it is a very nice feature. I one day for kicks didn't pay attention to how steady I was and just clicked away and no burry shots. So for me I like it very much.:G
Cyberf828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2007, 9:03 AM   #5

IS a must have feature? No, definately not. Useful... yes, but I would not cross any camera off my list because it did not have IS.