Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 7, 2003, 10:58 AM   #1

Default Question about Megapixels

Hi,

I posted yesterday a poll about two cameras, the oly 740/750 agains the hp 850..

As I am a complete newbie in this area can someone please to me what size a resolution of 2.11 (oly c-700) a 3.2 (c-740) and 4m (hp 850) can print with optimum quality??

Thanks.
Hammerjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 7, 2003, 11:24 AM   #2

Ideally pics should be 300 pixels per inch (PPI).

However you'll get away with 200-250ish if you're not too fussy.

So 2mp = 4x6
3mp 5x7 and 4mp 6x8

This is an ideal situation and I've seen 2mp at 10x8 look very good.

My old 2mp fuji was ok to about 1/2 A4 size but looked pixelly any bigger.

My 3.2mp Oly 730 is ok ish to A4 minus the border.

So for A4 size prints its 3.2 mp minimum.
steve6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2003, 8:01 PM   #3

Don't want to muddy the water, but...

The lens is a very important part of any camera. Many of the manufacturers are pushing the megapixel thing. I have a Canon Pro90 with a stabilized 38-380 stabilized lens. The camera can record "only" 2.6 megapixels. I regularly print beautiful 13 X 19 inch pictures. There's a lot more than the number of pixels a manufacturer claims. Photography of any kind is an art, including digital.

The printer you use is an issue to consider... I use and Epson 1270 (also from a generation ago). Don't get sucked into the "megapixel wars"...
Wildman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2003, 12:42 AM   #4

Default Re: Question about Megapixels

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hammerjoe
what size a resolution of 2.11 (oly c-700) a 3.2 (c-740) and 4m (hp 850) can print with optimum quality?