Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 10, 2003, 5:46 PM   #1

Default lower the ppi or use interpolation?

im pretty new at this so i dont know what produces better results, i am using PS7. i have a 2048 x 1536 image at 300 ppi. it can produce like a 5 x 6.8 picture with no interpolation. i need to get this image up to 8 x 10. should i lower the ppi until it reaches 8 x 10? or should i use bicubic interpolation to get it up to 8 x 10? which 1 of these ways will get me the best results?
newtothis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 10, 2003, 7:29 PM   #2

Just print the picture... your camera will produce an 8 X 10 with no problem. Don't re-sample... don't do anything to your picture file. Set the printer to match the paper type (use a good quality photo paper), and best quality available on your printer driver. Bet it'll look just fine. Your 300dpi standard is nice to have, but not really necessary.

I use Genuine Fractals to "rez up" pictures from my 2.6 MP Powershot Pro90 when I want to print Super A3 (13 X 19) photos. The pictures look fine, all the way down to about 180dpi.
Wildman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2003, 7:57 PM   #3

i have to do 1 of them because i print from PS7. if i just send the picture on it's way it will print out at 5 x 6.8. i have to use 1 of the 2 methods i mentioned to bump it up tp 8 x 10 first. i just dont know which looks best.
newtothis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2003, 9:11 PM   #4

By using interpolation you are adding information to the picture that wasn't there originally, IOW distorting it. Lower the DPI to get a larger picture.

With my 2mp camera (1600x1200) I do 8x10s all the time and they're fine at 150dpi
Mike_PEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2003, 1:38 AM   #5

Default Re: lower the ppi or use interpolation?

Quote:
Originally Posted by newtothis
i have a 2048 x 1536 image at 300 ppi